Aug 252016

In accordance with article 4-3.00 of the current ESSB-ESTA local agreement, the school council is an important element for the proper functioning of a school: “4-3.01 The teachers of a school shall contribute to the pedagogical and disciplinary administration of that school through the operation of a school council.” Here is what our local agreement outlines in terms of the timing for the creation of this group: “4-3.04 At a staff meeting held within the first three working days of the school year, the staff shall elect the members of the school council for the current school year. Failing this, the school council will be elected at the first staff meeting of the new school year.”

At these meetings, I recommend that the teachers also elect their school/centre union representatives. According to ESTA’s constitution, each school/centre should appoint one union delegate. However, if the school/centre has a member of the ESTA executive on staff, then he/she must also act as the school/centre’s union delegate. In the latter case, no election is necessary.

Each appointed union delegate for the 2016-2017 school year should communicate their appointment with the ESTA office as soon as possible, preferably by email. The names of the school council representatives do no need to be communicated to the ESTA office.

Jan 312014

The Nominations Committee for the executive by-election (Christine Piercey and Pamela Patterson) declared the elected to be:

Gillian Garrett – 1st Vice-President (acclaimed)
Darlene Roberts – 1st Member-at-Large (acclaimed)

Congratulations to Gillian and Darlene for their appointments to the Executive of the Eastern Shores Teachers Association. As a result, the ESTA Executive now consists of the following people:

Ray Venables, President (term ends June 30, 2015)
Gillian Garrett, 1st Vice President (term ends June 30, 2014)
Jean Francois Arbour, 2nd Vice President (term ends June 30, 2014)
Adele Flowers, Secretary–Treasurer (term ends June 30, 2015)
Darlene Roberts, 1st Member-at-Large (term ends June 30, 2015)
Erin Ross, 2nd Member-at-Large (term ends June 30, 2014)

May 052012

On Thursday, May 3 at the QPAT Provincial Council (a.k.a. AGM), the Nominations Committee declared the following elected or acclaimed to the QPAT Executive Committee for 2012-2014:

Richard Godfinch, President
Steven LeSueur, Chairperson
Richard Greschner, Treasurer
David Walker, Secretary
John Donnelly, Member-at-Large
Ruth Rosenfield, Member-at-Large
Ray Venables, Member-at-Large

I would like to thank all of those who supported me during this election. As I said in my election statement, I will do my best to help support our President and to work closely with the executive to ensure that QPAT represents the province’s anglophone teachers and the teaching profession.

Have a good union day!