Aug 042017

Please take note that effective immediately there are changes to the office contact information, as outlined below.

Phone: 418-680-2163


Physical Office: 80 Gerald D. Levesque, New Carlisle (The Anchor)

Mailing address: 40 Mountsorrel, New Carlisle, Qc, G0C 1Z0 (Board Office)

Jun 272017
In 2016-2017, unused sick days are no longer accumulated in a teacher’s “bank.” Instead all six (6) days are worth money and unused days are paid at the end of the school year. ESSB will calculate the sick day payout only on the last day of work; it will then pay teachers the unused sick days for the year on July 13, 2017. The reason for this date (rather than June 29) is to avoid the need to recoup money in the event of illness during the final working days in June.
May 312017

REMINDER concerning all travel out-of-province/country after July 1, 2017: An absence whose expected length is less than 90 consecutive days is covered. If the absence is expected to exceed 90 days, there is no coverage during the entire absence. For more information on your insurance plan, contact Industrial Alliance at (514) 499-3800 or 1-800-363-3540 or consult your online client space.

May 182017

ESTA’s Annual General Meeting will be held at the following date and time:

Friday, June 2 at 1 p.m. (2 p.m. Atlantic)

The meeting will be held online in each school and centre. Eastern Shores teachers will receive more information soon from their union delegates.

May 022017

There are many resources for those who have depression or mental health problems and are considering suicide. The Suicide Help Line is 1-866-277-3553 (1-866-APPELLE). This service is available throughout the Eastern Shores School Board’s territory.

Apr 142017

The Nominations Committee (comprised of Ray Venables and Zak Likely) for the recent executive by-election, declare the result as follows:

For the position of 1st Vice-President: Averill McWhirter-Huxter –  Acclaimed

Since this was a by-election, the position of 1st Vice-President will end on June 30, 2018.


Apr 062017

The ESTA Nominations Committee (Ray Venables and Zak Likely) is hereby giving notice of a by-election for the position of 1st VICE-PRESIDENT of the ESTA Executive.

Nominations are invited for the aforementioned position. This position will expire on June 30, 2018.

To learn more about the responsibilities for these positions, please refer to the ESTA Constitution (available on the ESTA website at

TIMELINE (adopted by ESTA Board of Directors on April 4, 2017):

April 4                        Notice of Election
April 12                      Close of Nominations (nomination forms must be received at the ESTA office by 3:00 pm of this date)
April 19                      Election Statement (only necessary if the position is contested; limited to one page – must be received by 3:00 pm of this date)
April 26                      Election Day (if necessary)

Nominations should be e-mailed or faxed to the ESTA office. You can obtain a nomination form from your school/centre’s union delegate or by contacting the ESTA office.

Mar 072017

The following applications should be submitted to ESSB by the dates indicated below.

April 1st to ESSB:


April 15th to your principal:


Within 5 days of job postings to ESSB:


Dec 112016

Dear ESSB teacher,

Once again this year, the Employee and Family Assistance Program (EFAP) provider for the Eastern Shores School Board is Morneau Shepell.

Morneau Shepell is a leading EFAP service provider and offers a wide range of confidential and voluntary support services to assist you and your family with resolving everyday challenges, complex issues, and everything in- between. You and your immediate family have access to the EFAP at no cost.

Please remember that the EFAP is completely confidential within the limits of the law. No one, including Eastern Shores School Board, will ever know that you have used the service unless you choose to tell them.

What does your EFAP include?

  • Short-term Professional Counselling provides support for personal and emotional issues. Choose from a variety of delivery methods to best suit your comfort level and lifestyle including In-Person, Telephonic, E- Counselling, First Chat (instant online chat with a counsellor), Video, Text-based self-paced.
  • Family Support Services connects you with a Family Support Specialist for personalized assistance with family planning, parenting, childcare, eldercare, homecare support and more.
  • Legal Support Services provide consultation with professional lawyers to answer legal questions surrounding divorce, custody, adoption, real estate, debt, bankruptcy, landlord/tenant issues, and more.
  • Financial Support Services provide consultation with financial professionals to answer financial questions about budgeting, debt management, tax issues, and more.

The program is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year!!!

Call the Morneau Shepell Care Access Centre toll free at 1 (800) 387-4765;
Register and login to E-Counselling via, or My EAP app.