Dec 022016

To: All schools and centres
From: Pamela Patterson and Christine Piercey
Cc: Ray Venables
Date: December 2, 2016
Re: Executive election results

As members of the Nominations Committee for the executive elections, we declare the results of the executive elected as follows:

For the position of president:

  • Louise Drapeau –  President (29% of the votes)
  • Gillian Garrett –  President (71% of the votes)

For the position of 1st Member-at-Large:

  • Averill McWhirter-Huxter (44% of the vote)
  • John Prince – 1st Member-at-Large (56% of the vote)

As members of the Nominations Committee for the executive elections, we declare the elected to be: Gillian Garrett (President) and John Prince (1st Member-at-Large). Congratulations to the winners, and thank you to all candidates for your interest in our association.

The ESTA Executive will consists of the following people as of July 1, 2017:

  1. Gillian Garrett – President – until June 30, 2019
  2. Vacant – 1st Vice-President – until June 30, 2018
  3. Erin Ross – 2nd Vice-President – until June 30, 2018
  4. Adele Flowers – Secretary-Treasurer – until June 30, 2019
  5. John Prince – 1st Member-at-Large – until June 30, 2019
  6. Ruth Copping – 2nd Member-at-Large  – until June 30, 2018

It is worth noting that the position of 1st Vice-President will become vacant on July 1, 2017 since Ms. Gillian Garrett currently holds that position. As a result, a by-election will be necessary sometime in the future.

Nov 122016

The Nominations Committee declare that as of the close of nominations on November 10, 2016 at 3 p.m., we declare the following results:

Adele Flowers – Secretary/Treasurer (acclaimed)


Since there were more than one candidate for the positions of President and 1st Member-at-Large, an election will be necessary.

In the near future, candidates’ election statements will be sent to the schools and centres. Elections will take place in the schools/centres on Thursday, December 1, 2016.

Congratulations to to Adele Flowers on being acclaimed to the executive of the Eastern Shores Teachers Association, and good luck to all candidates in the upcoming election.

Nov 102016

Today is the last day of the Public Consultation on Educational Success. The survey is seeking opinions to help students achieve their full potential, the mobilization of partners and stakeholders in support of educational success and developing a favourable context for student learning, personal development and success. Those interested in taking part must do so online today:

Oct 272016


The ESTA Nominations Committee (Pamela Patterson and Christine Piercey) is hereby giving notice of an election for the following ESTA Executive positions. 

Nominations are invited for the following position on the ESTA Executive. These positions will expire on June 30, 2019.

  • President
  • Secretary-Treasurer
  • 1st Member-at-Large

To learn more about the responsibilities for these positions, please refer to the ESTA Constitution. To obtain a copy, please ask your school’s union delegate or visit the ESTA website at

TIMELINE (adopted by ESTA Board of Directors on October 26, 2016):

October 27, 2016                  Notice of Election
November 10, 2016              Close of Nominations (must be received by 3:00 pm)
November 17, 2016               Election Statement (only necessary if the position is contested; limited to one page – must be received by 3:00 pm)
December 1, 2016                Election Day

Nominations should be e-mailed as attachments (with signatures) to Christine Piercey or faxed to Gaspe Elementary School at (418) 368-2261. Please ask your school/centre’s union delegate for a nomination form if you are interested in any of the aforementioned executive positions.

Oct 272016

Dear Eastern Shores Teachers Association Members,

One of our goals for this school year is to provide you with pertinent and useful information and we want to communicate it to you in a more efficient way.  This is why we are asking you to sign up to our e-mail mailing list at the following address: (You can also find the link or by clicking on the MailChimp mailing list icon on our website.)

Our objective is to allow us to communicate with you in a more direct fashion without having to go through the school board’s server with union information.  This information is sometimes confidential.

Rest assured that the information you provide to us will remain completely confidential and internal. We guarantee that you will not be bombarded on a daily basis, only when the need arises.

Thank you for your trust and participation in this initiative.


Ray Venables

Aug 252016

In accordance with article 4-3.00 of the current ESSB-ESTA local agreement, the school council is an important element for the proper functioning of a school: “4-3.01 The teachers of a school shall contribute to the pedagogical and disciplinary administration of that school through the operation of a school council.” Here is what our local agreement outlines in terms of the timing for the creation of this group: “4-3.04 At a staff meeting held within the first three working days of the school year, the staff shall elect the members of the school council for the current school year. Failing this, the school council will be elected at the first staff meeting of the new school year.”

At these meetings, I recommend that the teachers also elect their school/centre union representatives. According to ESTA’s constitution, each school/centre should appoint one union delegate. However, if the school/centre has a member of the ESTA executive on staff, then he/she must also act as the school/centre’s union delegate. In the latter case, no election is necessary.

Each appointed union delegate for the 2016-2017 school year should communicate their appointment with the ESTA office as soon as possible, preferably by email. The names of the school council representatives do no need to be communicated to the ESTA office.

Aug 162016

The Federal Liberal Government introduced a tax deduction for the purchase of school materials by teachers. So this year, remember to keep copies of receipts for any items that you purchase in connection with teaching and preparing your classroom for the new school year — they may be useful when you file your annual income tax!

For more information concerning eligible, tax-deductable expenses, please visit the Canada Revenue Agency’s website: